RSS

I Go Away For One Week…

11 Jan


And WotC announces that 5e is in the works. Well we don’t know much about it yet, so rather than make wildly speculative judgments I’ll only say this: I hope I hate 5e when it arrives. I don’t have a grudge against WotC, but if 5e sucks it’ll make my decision that much easier.

I’m ready to become a grognard.
 
 

3 responses to “I Go Away For One Week…

  1. Aaron E. Steele

    11/01/2012 at 5:17 am

    Lesson: Never go away.

     
  2. fewilcox

    11/01/2012 at 8:20 am

    I've disliked every edition of D&D to date so 5e's gonna have to be pretty spectacular to make me like it. That dislike, and my utter loathing of 3.x, made 4e a pleasant surprise since I can stand it enough that I actually run Encounters at our FLGS.But I still vastly prefer GURPS 4e (point-buy with lots of interesting combat maneuvers) and HackMaster 5e (hybrid class-/level-based and point-buy; combat is real-time using opposed rolls) for my campaigns. So unless D&D 5e makes some pretty significant departures from its current or past mechanics it doesn't stand a chance of making it onto my list of preferred games – which is precisely why I signed up for the open playtests: I'd love to have an edition of D&D that I actually like.

     
  3. Tequila Sunrise

    12/01/2012 at 12:13 am

    Sometime I've got to get around to trying all these other rpgs. Not enough time or money!

     

Leave a Reply

 
